ENGLISH LAVENDER

B20Not long after my grandmother passed away, there was always the fragrance of lavender almost everywhere I went.  She used to bathe with English Lavender soap and as a kid, I would always take the package and smell it and think that how beautiful the color “lavender” smelled.  I don’t know how old I was when I realized that the fragrance of lavender was from a flower not a color.

There was a time that I was constantly surrounded with the fragrance of roses.  I had no rose bushes or soap or dryer sheets or perfume that smelled like roses.  And the fact that I would notice it everywhere; at work, at home, in my car, mowing the yard, etc., made me notice and there was a maternal type comfort that accompanied it but I couldn’t figure out who it was.   I was sharing my story with a friend and he said it was Mary (mother of Jesus).  Apparently, when she is with you, there is an essence of roses.  I have heard this belief a couple of times since then.  I still, now and again, notice the fragrance of roses and if there is no physical reason for it, I just quietly smile with acknowledgement.

While in the retail business, I would smell black liquorice in the hardware department.  I would notice it different times of the day or night in different sections of the department.  This went on for quite some time.  I personally do not like black liquorice so my reaction to the fragrance was offensive.  I felt like it was an older man but never saw anything.

I was one of the rebels that refused to pay for tv service and still relied on the weather and my reception for the two channels and their programming.  I would usually read or tool around on my laptop.  I would notice the smell of cigarette smoke.  I don’t smoke nor allow anyone to smoke in my house or car.  I think that he was just passing through (I say “he”, it felt like a man) but it still was a bit annoying.  You know how you go out where people are smoking and it gets stuck in your nose for hours even after you leave?  That’s what it was like.  He doesn’t seem to come around as often now which is fine with me. (Phew!)

2 thoughts on “ENGLISH LAVENDER

  1. Luv the blog, Spiritual Ivy. Nice job. Luv the post as well. For me, the smell that triggers the most memories is when I smell Pipe smoke. My grandfather smoked pipes so whenever I’m around them, it brings back all kinds of wonderful childhood memories. Thanks for the walk down memory lane. beautifully written. 😉 xoxo ❤

    Like

  2. Thank you, Mathair. When you notice the fragrance of pipe smoke and there is no obvious source, I would say that if you are taken to your memories of your grandfather, he is surely around you letting you know he is there with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

